RSS Feed

Why I don’t read fashion magazines

Thank you Elizabeth, wise words from Rachel Cole’s, and yes sad that little has changed in 25 years. (In fact I think it has changed for the worse).

elizabeth milligan

When I was around eighteen years old I stopped buying fashion magazines.  For one simple reason.  They did not make me feel good.  At the time it was difficult to put my finger on what it was exactly that made me feel bad, but without fail, I would finish a magazine feeling more insecure and more confused as to who I was or “should be”.

I could write much more about this but really this little video says it all.  What is sad is that the woman speaking sounds about my age when I decided to stop buying magazines which means that unfortunately nothing has changed in the last twenty-five years!

If you would like to watch more great and powerful spoken word poetry then Rachel Cole’s blogpost “Just say it” lists some of the best.

What do you think about this?  Do you buy fashion magazines?  How do they…

View original post 3 more words

About kathythesane

Lived in Kent, then Devon, now France. Trained as a Mental Health Nurse in Canterbury, then at Training South East (Sandhurst) in Transactional Analysis with Alice Stephenson (dec'd) , Suzanne Boyd and Mellie Lewin. Managed a Private Psychiatric Nursing Home for very mentally ill patients in Devon for 3 year before retiring to France in 2006.

Leave a Reply

