RSS Feed

Regular sorties into the Asylum!

This year I have been making regular sorties into the Asylum and I have to report that it’s still as worrying as it has been for some time.

The last few weeks of 2013 saw us helping prepare yet another home for my daughter to move into, much painting and cleaning and anxiety culminating in a move in mid December and a need for more physiotherapy for me.  Jo also finally published the eBook she’d formatted for me of the blog I’d created using Dad’s letters home from his POW camp during WW2.

Image

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Letters-Stalag-VIIIB-Arthur-Charles-ebook/dp/B00HBV0L5U/ref=pd_rhf_gw_p_t_1_5ZQX

I’m really pleased with how it looks and can’t wait for it to be published as a paperback, sometime in the Spring.  It’s a companion book for the book Dad wrote in the 80’s Sojourn in Silesia.

I have also been volunteering at one of our local Restos du Coeur on a Monday morning. 

http://www.restosducoeur.org/

This is quite a challenge to my French which is still not too good, but I get by and am more or less understood.  It is doubly hard as the local Patois is Berichon which is like a whole different language, add to that that not all our visitors are French, it makes for an interesting morning.  I am about to increase to twice per week now I’ve become more used to it.  Getting up in the morning for “work” is quite a shock after 7 years away from the wheel.  Thank goodness it’s only for 3 hours twice a week.

We also began the 5:2 Intermittent Fasting regime at the end of October.  We did well, and had a hiatus as we moved Jo and navigated Christmas.  I found even only after 4 or 5 fasting days that my appetite had reduced alot and on Christmas Day I could not partake of the usual indulgences.  We restarted last week and completed Day 3 of this year yesterday.  I am pleased to have lost 6 kilos, this is the first time in over 10 years that I have found a diet that works and my hard work pays off.  I have discovered that cauliflower is a life saver, making us rice, mash or pizza substitute with a very low carb value.  I love not having to think about what I am eating for the other 5 days of the week.  I also have far more energy than I have had for years.

Our fly in the ointment is still very quiet and the stink from his poultry farm next door is still smelly on mild evenings.  We wrote again to D.D.A.S.S in October and have zilch in response.  We know from before that they will probably be corresponding with Madame Maire, so we’ll wait and see.

Physio has worked so well I am knitting again and for the first time in over 10 years have no pins and needles in my hands when manipulating knitting needles.  If this carries on, I might even be able to ride my bike this year.  I am still standing for half the time I am using my laptop (but not right this minute).  

The gate will be wide open on Saturday as I am hosting a Neal’s Yard Organic remedies party.  Once that’s over we’ll close the gate until I have to venture out again on Monday am.  

Happy New Year from Outside the Asylum.

About kathythesane

Lived in Kent, then Devon, now France. Trained as a Mental Health Nurse in Canterbury, then at Training South East (Sandhurst) in Transactional Analysis with Alice Stephenson (dec'd) , Suzanne Boyd and Mellie Lewin. Managed a Private Psychiatric Nursing Home for very mentally ill patients in Devon for 3 year before retiring to France in 2006.

Leave a Reply

