RSS Feed

Amazon making false claims about my honesty!

Posted on

I am fuming and don’t really know what to do next.

Over the last few weeks I have been following the journey to book launch of an author I admire called Lisa Cherry who has written a book called The Brightness of Stars. (normally I would have put in an Amazon link but that doesn’t actually feel right).
Her book, about her journey, and that of other children who were brought up in the care system in the UK, comes at time when “cared for children” are quite high profile in the press.

During the lead up to the book launch, Lisa held a competition, and I was lucky enough to win a copy of the book. Having read the book, I wrote a review on Amazon. The review didn’t appear (and I sorely regretted not writing it and saving it to Word), so after 48hrs I wrote another. Guess what (still not copied in Word), this too wasn’t published. So, I went to Help on Amazon, explained what had happened and here is the reply I received earlier today.

Your Account
Amazon.co.uk

Message From Customer Service

Hello Kathy,

We’ve removed your review from “The Brightness of Stars: Stories of Adults Who Came Through The British Care.”

Reviews are meant to give customers genuine product feedback from fellow customers. When we perceive that a reviewer has financial interest in a book or a close personal relationship with the author, we remove the review to protect the authenticity of our customer reviews.

If you have additional questions, please consult our Customer Review Guidelines:http://www.amazon.co.uk/review-guidelines

If, after reviewing our guidelines, you believe your review was incorrectly removed, please reply to this email with additional detail and we will take another look.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards,
Frank Lohe-Baartzes

I was astonished, and pretty angry, as i have no connection with Lisa other than following her on her Facebook page, reading and commenting on her book and following her on Twitter.
So, I respond to the email with,

Hello,

I only know of the author virtually, and only as someone’s who’s views I agree with and who’s work closely connects to my previous work as a mental health nurse and psychotherapist. . I don’t understand where in my review it suggests I have a close personal relationship with the author and I certainly have no financial interest in the book. I am astounded and angry.
Please explain?

Kathy Gower.

This is the reply,

Hello Kathy,

This is Bryce from Amazon Communities.

Thank you for taking the time to contact us.

I understand you’re upset and I regret that we haven’t been able to address your concerns to your satisfaction.
However, we won’t be able to provide further insight or assistance for your request.

Warmest regards,

Bryce C
Amazon.co.uk
Your feedback is helping us build Earth’s Most Customer-Centric Company.

So, still no review, and no acknowledgement that they are making untrue accusations about my honesty.

My reply below,

I’m sorry Bryce, that’s not good enough.
I shall have to take this further as you have accused me of dishonesty and of lying and having a financial interest in a book I have no connection with.

Kathy Gower.

So what do I do now. I feel so angry that they have not checked out the proof of their accusations. I feel angry on behalf of the author who feels passionate about her subject and really connects with her audience.

Anyhow, I feel a little less angry for writing it here. I hope that someone, somewhere will come up with a plan so I can leave a review for a book I feel is really important for the care world. Off to GOODREADS where hopefully my review (which I’ll have to write again (this time in Word) for a 3rd time. It will lack the passion and spontaneity but the book deserves reviewing.

And you wonder why I keep the gate closed!

a plus

As an after thought, I am now deleting my reviews from Amazon.
They say,
“Your feedback is helping us build Earth’s Most Customer-Centric Company.” at the end of their email. Well, I don’t think so Amazon.

About kathythesane

Lived in Kent, then Devon, now France. Trained as a Mental Health Nurse in Canterbury, then at Training South East (Sandhurst) in Transactional Analysis with Alice Stephenson (dec'd) , Suzanne Boyd and Mellie Lewin. Managed a Private Psychiatric Nursing Home for very mentally ill patients in Devon for 3 year before retiring to France in 2006.

9 responses »

  1. Dear Kathy
    I am disappointed and dismayed by the approach taken by Amazon. Talk about victim-blaming by association! Amazon are quite unaware of the irony in their replies.
    Good luck in pursuing this matter.
    David

    Reply
    • Thank you, I hope that the matter will be resolved when their is someone more senior to address the issue. It being the weekend and the Saturday boys being in charge is not useful 😀

      Reply
  2. Not being funny.. But how on earth can you even compare your review not being published to a poor child who obviously the media/family etc were trying to protect. She has to live with that her whole life and never get her child hood back. Like you said, your just write another!!!

    Reply
    • Yes, you’re right, it does not compare one centimetre and I shall remove the comment. I was angry and thinking about the similar unwillingness to discuss or hear or believe they are wrong.
      Thanks for pointing out my massive over statement.

      Reply
  3. Hi Kathy
    I’ll mention their policy and lack of intelligent response every time I’m asked to review something I’ve bought from Amazon.

    Reply
  4. Pingback: Authors Beware: Amazon Could Remove Your Book!!

  5. Sorry they are being so unhelpful and unfair. The scary part is that they have now bought Goodreads (I think?).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

