RSS Feed

Was in the city last week, buying a present for a friends 40th birthday. Un magasin de beauté is not a place I normally venture into. So, nice sales woman, very helpful with choosing my friends present, and very insistent that I should be buying some products for me.
I wish my French was good enough to explain my lack of interest in “beauté” and the drive to stay looking young. Surely i thought, she can see I haven’t bothered so far, I have no make-up on, moustache needs bleaching again (despite my promise to myself to do this more often) and the facial hair thing is out of control. Was she looking? Anyhow, I manage to convince her that I was only there to purchase a cadeau and she allowed me to leave with 3 free samples of moisturiser, which are still in my bag as I forget I have them.
I am absolutely positive that my skin will benefit far more from what I eat than was I slaver on the outside.
I am still 5’1″, morbidly obese and not expecting a lot to change in the foreseeable future, preserving my skin therefore is not on my list of priorities.
a bientot.

musings from outside the asylum

First off, I should say, I am not as qualified as I could be in this being a woman lark.

I have never really been into all those womanly pursuits. Fashion, jewellery, perfume, make-up are all things I tend to ignore. I do have some jewellery (but forget to wear it), I have earrings, but after a few days take them out and the pierced holes close up. I have some make-up, the newest item is probably 2 years old and I have used it once in the last 6 months. I don’t have the figure to need to worry about fashion, and have never really been interested in the latest styles. Being 5’1″ is quite possibly the reason, I am not sure, but “Fashion for Short Arses” is not a magazine title I have ever come across.

I am 56 years old, and way too big for a short…

View original post 411 more words

About kathythesane

Lived in Kent, then Devon, now France. Trained as a Mental Health Nurse in Canterbury, then at Training South East (Sandhurst) in Transactional Analysis with Alice Stephenson (dec'd) , Suzanne Boyd and Mellie Lewin. Managed a Private Psychiatric Nursing Home for very mentally ill patients in Devon for 3 year before retiring to France in 2006.

Leave a Reply

