RSS Feed

Who polices Facebook

Whilst browsing just now, I came across a status update from a friend who has a page come up in her news feed called, “Dead Baby Jokes”.  Yes, you read it correctly.  I have chosen not to search for the page, so am not adding a link here,  but instead I searched the term in Twitter and discovered others discussing it.  There is a photo of the page, and it has over 27000 likes!  The discussion on Twitter suggests that despite if being reported (and I can imagine it is reported time and again) it hasn’t been removed.

A couple of years ago I started a page to try to publicise the identity of a serial con man who’d conned my daughter.  The page did reasonably well, and yet within 2 or 3 weeks I had been advised to take the page down.  Being a law-abiding type and not wanting to lose my Facebook profile, I did as was requested.

Where is the justice in this, my page was more or less harmless, in fact the only one it might have “harmed” is now serving yet another jail sentence that will most likely end too soon.  Meanwhile, the Dead Baby Jokes page continues to cause untold harm and unnecessary suffering to those who have lost babies, and continues to reinforce the sick people in our society.

I have looked at reporting the page, looked at Facebook’s Help Centre and cannot see where I can actually contact someone and write this to them.  I know from other experiences of reporting stuff to Facebook that they do nothing.   So Facebook, please let me know why you have done nothing about this page…..please tell me who is checking you’re doing a good job?

Whoever reads this, I would be grateful if you would share it as far as possible….maybe eventually Facebook or someone who can remove the page might just get the message.

About kathythesane

Lived in Kent, then Devon, now France. Trained as a Mental Health Nurse in Canterbury, then at Training South East (Sandhurst) in Transactional Analysis with Alice Stephenson (dec'd) , Suzanne Boyd and Mellie Lewin. Managed a Private Psychiatric Nursing Home for very mentally ill patients in Devon for 3 year before retiring to France in 2006.

2 responses »

  1. Hi – we’ve been contacted by a lot of people about this Page and we’ve spoken to Facebook about it. To report content to Facebook you need to click on the dropdown box (the symbol that looks like a cog wheel) at the top of the Page and select Report Page. Ultimately it’s up to Facebook to remove the Page. If enough people report it perhaps this will increase the pressure to shut this page down.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

