RSS Feed

Standing Desk

Day 1.

In the past few days I have been hearing about and reading about Standing Desks.

My chair which is now two years old has lost it cushioning effect. I am obese and spend a long time on my laptop. Have been thinking for a while I need a new chair, along with thinking I need to get off my ar** and spend less time sitting in front of this screen. So, I know how that works. I start of with good intentions and we have been walking more, however it’s not enough, I am addicted to the internet and I getting uncomfortable on my chair.

So, after having a look at what was available (buy a new desk rather than chair) I see that Ikea do some good ones.
Then I realise that one that is mentioned is actually the desk I am using! I look and see that my desk can be easily converted. So, this morning, my husband has done the deed and I am now standing at my newly positioned desk writing this blog.

My newly adjusted desk
I hope you can see it in all it’s glory, I know that the photos tend to get cut off on here. I’ve turned my desk round so I can look out into the garden. The downside for Mark is I can see him if he slacks off in his gardening πŸ˜‰

I knew from my reading that this is a tiring position for a few days and I also know I need to keep my legs moving to prevent pooling of blood in my veins. So, to combat this standing still, I am listening to some Ska music and when I am not typing, having a little dance.

Oh and one more good thing (there are so many), I have turned my desk around and am looking straight out at the gates! So, even more security πŸ˜€

So, I can see the gates are shut, so no need for a reminder.

I shall be slyph like by this evening, and very very tired.

a bientot.

About kathythesane

Content to be Lefty, Libtard, Snowflake, TreeHugger, DoGooder, kind, generous and sane. This Atheist will say potent prayers for you Trumpettes.

5 responses »

  1. Aren’t Slyphs one of the species of bad types from Dr Who ?

    Reply
    • I expect you’re correct. You should have seen how I’d spelled it earlier! Lots of light pouring through the open window which I am facing.
      Sylph is what I meant and I’ll leave it now, since your comment will not make sense if I correct it.

      Reply
  2. I have both sitting and standing desks. Which suits me well, since staying in one place is not among my forte!

    Reply
    • Whilst checking my Spam for Ham I came across your post Roy.
      Thank you for your feedback. I am moving between here and sitting reading my Kindle, or cooking, or cleaning. Much more active which is what counts.

      Reply
  3. Reblogged this on musings from outside the asylum and commented:

    I’m still standing 2 years on.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

