RSS Feed

Feed a dog or child?

I’ve been pondering again.

For a few weeks I have been wondering about getting a dog. I have to think long and hard about this as I am not a doggy type person. Some friends have been sharing their photos of newly acquired dogs and puppies, and of course this makes my “cute and broody” buttons twitch.

I am obese, in fact my BMI says I am morbidly obese, although I am active, and have (after a year in the doldrums) begun to walk or get some exercise each day. Dr Mike Evans says,

and we have been doing this since November. So, where it the connection here?

My pondering’s about acquiring a dog were motivated by the idea that having a dog would mean we would have to walk, whatever is going on for us, and may mean we walk more and perhaps twice a day. Of course, we can do this even without a dog if we are determined enough. So, these thoughts have been around in my head for about 4 weeks, and over the last couple of days I have come to a decision. We will not have a dog, it would be mainly to meet my/our needs, and stroke some part of myself that wants to nurture and to get fitter. I cannot feel good about spending money on a dog, feeding, vets bills and whatever else comes from owning a dog when there are starving children, homeless children, cold children. It would just feel so wrong.

I get angry when I see adverts such as,

http://www.dogstrust.org.uk/sponsor/default.aspx and they say the dog will write to you! What the ****. This is madness, pure madness, and yet I suspect there are a lot of dogs out there being sponsored and honing their writing skills.

http://www.internationalanimalrescue.org/sponsor_an_animal.php
and we’ll send you a cuddly toy animal (and sometimes it might slightly resemble the animal you’re sponsoring).

http://www.donation4charity.org/charities/wwf-adopt-an-animal

So, where have I come to in my pondering’s. I/We have decided to return to a regular charity donation and will be researching sponsoring a child.

http://www.worldvision.org.uk/child-sponsorship/
http://www.actionaid.org.uk/100044/sponsor_a_child_today.html
or maybe from here
http://www.sponsorachild.org.uk/
I think I will start my research here,
http://forums.moneysavingexpert.com/showthread.php?t=767119

I will feel far happier doing this (so still meeting my needs) and meeting the needs of a child rather than a dog.
As for my obesity, I will walk whatever is going on, and continue to exercise and maintain our healthy eating. It feels incongruous to be obese and talking about starving children. What an unbalanced world we live in.

We’ve already closed the gate, after our walk. It’s -4C here today, so it was a cold walk.

Kathy the sane.

Sorry, the links are as they are, I am unable to make the html link work.
Hope this now makes sense.

About kathythesane

Lived in Kent, then Devon, now France. Trained as a Mental Health Nurse in Canterbury, then at Training South East (Sandhurst) in Transactional Analysis with Alice Stephenson (dec'd) , Suzanne Boyd and Mellie Lewin. Managed a Private Psychiatric Nursing Home for very mentally ill patients in Devon for 3 year before retiring to France in 2006.

One response »

  1. Reblogged this on musings from outside the asylum and commented:

    We made a decision about child sponsorship, and have sponsored a child with Action Aid and a child with The Butterfly Tree Org. With Butterfly Tree all the money donated goes to help the community. Much happier than with all the paperwork and glossy stuff that came with Action Aid.
    We didn’t get a dog, but a few months later my daughter did. So I do dog walk a couple of times a week, and I do get some of the good stuff one gets with a dog, however I am so relieved that the problems and responsibility is not mine, and like grand children you get to hand the dog back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

