RSS Feed

Padded Cell

I need one. Shall I look on Ebay?
The problem here, outside The Asylum is it doesn’t keep out noise. So, a padded cell should do the trick. That way, I could actually drift off to sleep each night uninterrupted by the dog next door.
For the past 10 weeks or more, she has decided that between 01h00 and 02h00 is a good time to bark. Being a French dog, she is tied up and behind bars in an open garage. So, I cannot imagine that she has spotted a feral cat wandering down the road, as she isn’t able to see anywhere much.
I know she is living in awful circumstances, but I cannot help feeling angry at being woken like this every night. Just at that drifting, cosy, peaceful and warm phase.
She barks, I jump, and adrenaline starts pumping through my body and I am awake. I continue to lay there and after about 5 mins begin to drift again…..she barks. This can happen 3 or 4 times, and this time I am wide awake and so angry I could scream.
So, the padded cell could serve two purposes. One protect the neighbours and my husband from my screams, and I wouldn’t hear the dog.

Kathy going slowly insane and very, very tired.

About kathythesane

Lived in Kent, then Devon, now France. Trained as a Mental Health Nurse in Canterbury, then at Training South East (Sandhurst) in Transactional Analysis with Alice Stephenson (dec'd) , Suzanne Boyd and Mellie Lewin. Managed a Private Psychiatric Nursing Home for very mentally ill patients in Devon for 3 year before retiring to France in 2006.

Leave a Reply

