RSS Feed

Standing desk (again!)

Back in Feb 2012, I began trying a standing desk and wrote about it here and here.  As you can see, I was very pleased with my new desk position and looked forward some healthier internet surfing.

In July(ish) 2012, I started with a rather painful foot problem necessitating eventually (after several months waiting for it to resolve itself) visiting a podiatrist a few times.   He prescribed me orthopedic insoles and for a while my feet improved.  However I’d been sitting for a few months and the pain was not resolved enough to bring me back to standing.   I am pretty sure the problem wasn’t caused by me standing, but I will be sure to use my insoles when standing just in case.

My standing desk was big and ugly and I decided to swap it with Jo (my Virtual Assistant daughter) who was looking for a bigger desk.  So, I now have her small one which I don’t sit at, as I have moved to sitting at the end of the kitchen table.  I like being in there but now my feet are a lot better I need to start standing again, as the sitting is not comfortable nor good for me.

There’s a lot more information out there now about Standing desks, more than there was when I first blogged.  I watched this a week or so ago.

Trust Me I am a Doctor which did some really interesting research with a group of Estate Agents.  If this isn’t showing (I can’t watch again in France) maybe it’s on YouTube.  Worth a look.  Here’s just one example.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvDdgscX9_E   I love the desk at 1.27 mins :

So, I am currently standing with 2 pouffes resting on our coffee table (Mark might want one of these back when he comes in to watch TV!).  Not ideal but it’ll do for now.  I will need to work out a better way as I am determined to stand again, it’s far more comfortable and is good for me in so many ways.

So, let’s see how it goes this time.

About kathythesane

Lived in Kent, then Devon, now France. Trained as a Mental Health Nurse in Canterbury, then at Training South East (Sandhurst) in Transactional Analysis with Alice Stephenson (dec'd) , Suzanne Boyd and Mellie Lewin. Managed a Private Psychiatric Nursing Home for very mentally ill patients in Devon for 3 year before retiring to France in 2006.

2 responses »

  1. I made a standing desk by placing my laptop on top of a stand on a pub-height table in my kitchen. I hope your feet allow to stand again, it makes me feel so much better not sitting all day.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 304 other followers

